Biennale Le Latitudini dell’Arte5th edition: Sweden and Italy 16.07- 03.09 2022


Opening: 15.07 at Palazzo Ducale, Sala del Munizioniere, piazza Matteotti, Genova (Italy)

The 5th edition of the Biennale of Contemporary Art Le Latitudini dell’Arte will be inaugurated on Friday 15 July at Palazzo Ducale in Genoa. The Biennial, organised by Art Commission in collaboration with the Fondazione Palazzo Ducale di Genova (Italy), was established in 2013 to facilitate artistic-cultural exchange between Italy and other European countries.

After Finland, Hungary, Germany and The Netherlands, the Biennale 2022 is attended by contemporary artists living and working in Italy and Sweden. The 5th edition, sponsored by the Municipality of Genoa, the Liguria Region and the Embassy of Sweden in Rome, and curated for the Italian side by Stefania Giazzi and Virginia Monteverde and for the Swedish side by Paul Thomassen, will host 40 artists proposed by curators, galleries and foundations of the two countries.

Theme: Il Crepuscolo della Terra / The Twilight of the Earth
The fifth edition of the Biennale Le Latitudini dell’arte, has the environment as its theme. The artists will be inspired by the urgency to protect our Mother Earth, and their creations will reflect that vital necessity. The urgent need to invert the trend of exploitation of resources is now clear to everyone, and the artists will give their interpretation of the theme with their unique sensitivity and vision.

Artists from Sweden: Patrik Bengtsson, Erik Berglin, Marie Dahlstrand, Samira Englund, Ann Eringstam, Daniel Götesson (Ekta), Tommy Hilding, Leslie Johnson, Erik Kihlbaum, Tove Kjellmark, Jukka Korkeila, Juri Markkula, Roger Metto, Sara Nilsson, Olle Schmidt, Lotta Söder. Martin Solymar, Gustav Sparr, Tommy Sveningsson, Hendrik Zeitler

Artists from italy: Yuval Vital, Gianluca Capozzi, Elisabetta Di Sopra, Manuel Felisi, Antonella Gandini, Ilaria Gasparroni, Rachel Lee Hovnanian, Enrico Minguzzi, Diletta Nicosia, Marco Pace, Massimiliano Pelletti, Pennacchio Argentato, Lucio Pozzi, Daniele Ratti, Giovanni Ricci-Novara, Lorenza Sannai, Andrea Savazzi, Antonio Tropiano, TTOZOI, Alessandro Zannier.